Call Now: You Only Have 10 Days To Protect Your License

If you have been arrested for DUI — no matter the circumstances — you must act fast to keep your driving privileges. If you fail to request a hearing with Maryland's Motor Vehicle Administration within 10 days of your arrest, or enroll in the interlock program, your driving privileges are gone.

Your Maryland driver's license can be suspended before your DUI trial. Call 301-579-3429 to talk to a lawyer about your options now.

At the Law Offices of Thomas C. Mooney in Upper Marlboro, we guide DUI clients through the administrative and criminal processes involved in their cases. We are prepared to help you protect your license, minimize points put on your driving record and fight the installation of an ignition interlock device, among the other consequences of a DUI arrest.

Your MVA Hearing

How we will handle your MVA hearing depends on the details of your arrest, including your BAC, and your priorities. We will work with you very closely to ensure we pursue the best possible outcome for you.

BAC: .08-.14

If your breath test showed a blood-alcohol concentration between .08 and .14, and you have no priors within the last five years, you have two options:

  1. Request an MVA hearing to seek a restricted driver's license. Once you request a hearing, the MVA will mail you a driver's privilege extension license to allow you to drive until the date of your hearing.
  2. Enroll in the ignition interlock program for one year and go to the MVA to obtain a license that states you may drive with the interlock. This allows you to avoid a hearing and 90-day license suspension, but it is very important to talk to a reputable attorney about the implications of this choice.

BAC: .15 And Above

If your BAC was .15 or greater at the time of your arrest, you are not eligible for a restricted license; however you may still request a hearing to challenge the validity of your breath or blood test. If your challenge is unsuccessful, your license will be suspended 90 days for a first offense or 120 days for a repeat offense. In some cases, a judge may offer you an ignition interlock device instead of the suspension.

You also have an option to immediately enter the ignition interlock program for one year instead of requesting a hearing. Call 301-579-3429 to talk to us about whether that is the right choice.

BAC Unknown Due To Refusal

If you refused to take a breath or blood test, you are not eligible for a restricted driver's license. You may request a hearing to contest your refusal. If your hearing is unsuccessful, your license will be suspended for 120 days for a first offense and one year for a repeat offense. In some cases, a judge may offer you an ignition interlock device instead of the suspension.

You also have the option to enroll in the ignition interlock program for one year in lieu of requesting a hearing.

Timing Is Critical. Call Now To Discuss DUI Defense Options.

Should you request a hearing? Should you enroll in the interlock program? Call now to talk to a lawyer for free. We do not charge for our initial consultations. The MVA hearing process and the interlock program are very complex, and you need to fully understand your rights and options. Call 301-579-3429 or send us an email to schedule your consultation.