Sexual Assault And Rape Charges: The Aggressive Defense You Need

Those who are accused of sexual assault and rape in Maryland face uphill battles. While the state bears the burden of proving you guilty beyond a reasonable doubt, sex crimes are very unpopular and jurors are likely to have preconceived notions.

At the Law Offices of Thomas C. Mooney in Upper Marlboro, we provide skilled and aggressive criminal defense against sexual assault and rape charges. Our lawyers work very hard to protect the rights of our clients who are charged with sex crimes — taking the prosecution to task to prove absolutely every element of a case, communicating effectively with juries during trials.

We win tough cases. Lead attorney Thomas C. Mooney has tried two rape cases in 2015 alone, prevailing in both.

Consequences Of Sexual Assault And Rape Charges

Maryland's criminal laws regarding sex offenses are complex and ever evolving. There are many different offenses and classifications, which can make it very challenging for you to understand what you are up against.

The following chart explains a few of the charges you could face in Maryland and the criminal penalties of a conviction; as your law firm, we would strive to prevent the serious consequences of these charges by pursuing every possible avenue to protect your freedom.

Charge

CrimeImprisonmentNotes
First-degree rapeNonconsensual vaginal intercourse by force or threat of force.*Up to a life sentenceIf a weapon is used, or the victim was threatened with death, you could receive life without parole. If you are over 18 and the victim is under 15, a 25-year minimum applies.
Second-degree rapeNonconsensual vaginal intercourse by force or threat of force.*Up to 20 years, generallyIn some cases, the sentence can be increased. If you are over 18 and the victim is under 15, a 15-year minimum applies.
First-degree sexual offenseNonconsensual sexual act by force or threat of force with a weapon.*Up to a life sentenceIf the victim is under 16, you could receive life without parole. If you are over 18 and the victim is under 13, a 25-year mandatory minimum applies.
Second-degree sexual offenseNonconsensual sexual act by force or threat of force; the victim is mentally disabled or under 14 and you are at least four years older.*Up to 20 years, generallyIf the victim is under 13, a 15-year mandatory minimum applies.

Talk To Us First: Investigators Are Not On Your Side

Whether you have already been charged or are only under investigation at this point, we encourage you to contact us as soon as possible. If the police are trying to contact you about a sex crime, they are trying to build a case.

Our early involvement in sex offense cases can be critical to the outcome. We offer free, confidential case reviews. Call 301-579-3429 or send us an email to schedule an appointment. We will answer your questions and discuss your defense options during a no-obligation consultation.