If you are a college student or the parent of a student who is currently facing criminal charges related to underage drinking and driving, you know the importance of taking quick action. Your education, future and even your personal freedom is on the line, but you still have options.
If a DUI charge has been leveled against you, you may start beating yourself up over ending up in such an ordeal. However, anyone could find him or herself in such a situation, and rather than focusing on the negative aspects, you may wish to look into how you could handle your case. There are many factors that could impact the outcome of your specific predicament, and, therefore, you may still have cause for a hopeful result.
For the first time in a few years, with the team rushing out of the gate to a great start, fans of Terrapins football have reason to be happy. With wins come bigger crowds, and more people tailgating. In fact, the Terps are hosting a big night game on October 22. The atmosphere should be festive in the lead-up to kickoff.
As the nation continues passing and considering laws to legalize or decriminalize marijuana, the pleas for some kind of instant test to identify people driving under the influence of pot have been heard. Engineers at Stanford have developed an experimental roadside "spit test" that will identify people under the influence of marijuana.
A DUI is a very serious offense which carries severe penalties and often has lasting consequences for the person charged. If you have been charged with a DUI over the Labor Day weekend, or during any other time of year, it is important that you understand the types of penalties you will face as well as the possible associated long-term consequences. You should also understand your legal rights and how an attorney can assist in furthering those rights and defending against criminal charges.
Driving while intoxicated can carry significant consequences including suspension of your driver's license, fines and even jail time. That being said, if you become the subject of a DUI stop, you still have rights and the stop itself does not mean that you need to submit of any and all police requests.
Memorial Day is fast approaching, and while the intention of the holiday is to honor those who died while serving in the military, it has also become the unofficial kickoff to summer. Barbecues and parties are common on Memorial Day - as are drunk driving arrests. Officers generally step up DUI patrols and checkpoints during holiday weekends, and this leads to a corresponding spike in DUI arrests.
Getting pulled over by the police is never a comfortable experience, but if you have stopped after having a couple of drinks, the experience can be even more unnerving. You may even think you are ok to drive and not over the legal limit - but what if you have had too much? If you're charged with drunk driving will you be sent to jail? If your blood alcohol content (BAC) is above the legal limit (0.08 percent or higher in Maryland), jail is a possibility.
Yes. You will - unless you act quickly. If you are charged with a DUI in Maryland your driver's license will be confiscated by police and you will be issued a temporary driver's license that is good for 45 days. If you don't request an MVA hearing within 10 days of your arrest, you will lose your driving privileges on day 46.
This is one of the most common questions people have after being pulled over for a DUI. For many, the answer is no. Unless you have only had one drink and are truly below the 0.08 limit, taking the breath test will never end in your favor.