Many Marylanders may feel like getting a DUI in this state is not a huge deal since the conviction for DUI is, in most cases, a misdemeanor and many prosecutors will not push for jail on a first offense with no aggravating circumstances.
Jail is a possibility for any DUI
For one, jail is always a possibility after a DUI. Jail time can range from between 2 months and 5 years depending on the circumstances.
It is also important to remember that certain aggravating circumstances, like a fatal accident, may result in additional criminal charges.
Moreover, even if a person can avoid jail time, he or she will likely have to spend some time on probation. Probation can be both costly and time-consuming.
The accused may also have to pay a fine between $500 and $5,000.
There are other serious consequences to DUIs
In addition to criminal penalties, a person convicted of a DUI will likely have to serve at least 180 days of a license suspension, although an ignition interlock device or other relief may be available from this administrative suspension.
Additionally, a conviction for a DUI will mean that a person receives points on his or her motor vehicle record, and this penalty could in turn result in further action against the person’s license.
It is also important to remember that a DUI will likely force a person to pay higher automobile insurance rates for several years, an additional expense that could all-in-all cost thousands of dollars.
Moreover, after a DUI, many may find their jobs or professional licenses in jeopardy.
In short, a Maryland DUI is a serious matter even for a first-time offender, and those facing this charge should know and evaluate their legal options.