Someone in Maryland in the unlawful possession of a controlled substance can face serious penalties, depending on whether it is a “hard” drug or whether the accused intends to distribute the drug. The following is a brief overview of drug possession and distribution laws in Maryland.
Except for marijuana, a person in Maryland is prohibited from possessing a controlled substance unless they have a lawful prescription for the substance. Possession of a controlled substance is a misdemeanor, and a person could face a prison sentence of four years and a $25,000 fine if convicted, although the actual penalty is dependent on how much of the controlled substance a person has on them.
If a person possesses an excessive amount of a controlled substance, this may be considered possession with intent to distribute, which is a felony crime. The penalties for drug distribution are based on the type of drug at issue. Distribution of Schedule I and II drugs can lead to incarceration for 20 years and/or a $25,000 fine. Distribution of hallucinogens can lead to incarceration for 20 years and/or a $20,000 fine. Finally, distribution of controlled substances other than those that fall under Schedule I or Schedule II can lead to incarceration for five years and/or a $15,000 fine.
Learn more about drug offenses in Maryland
Any accusations of drug crimes should be taken very seriously, as the accused’s freedom and reputation are at stake. This post is for educational purposes only and does not contain legal advice. Those who want to learn more about drug offenses in Maryland are encouraged to explore our firm’s website for further information.