Personal Attention.
Aggressive Defense.

Photo of Thomas C. Mooney

Potential penalties for selling marijuana in Maryland

On Behalf of | Sep 26, 2022 | Firm News

In the state of Maryland, marijuana has been decriminalized to some degree. Usually, this means that someone with a first-time possession charge and a small amount of the drug will receive a ticket, rather than being arrested and put in jail. 

However, possessing and selling marijuana are two very different things. If you are caught with marijuana and there is the intention of distribution, the potential penalties are actually quite harsh. Understanding what these laws and potential punishments are can be beneficial. 

Possession of marijuana with the intent to distribute

If you are charged with possession and the intent to distribute, the penalties are based on how much of the drug you have. For example:

  • Under 50 pounds: This comes with a punishment of fines up to $15,000 and five years in prison
  • Over 50 pounds: This is charged as a felony with a mandatory prison sentence of at least five years and a fine of up to $100,000. 

The law becomes even stricter when it comes to the distribution of marijuana on school property or in a school vehicle. This felony comes with a potential prison sentence of up to 20 years and fines of up to $20,000. 

Defending your charges of marijuana possession with the intent to distribute

Facing criminal charges is scary and overwhelming. If you are in this situation, it’s important to know your legal rights and options. 

There are additional charges and penalties for anyone who is found trafficking or cultivating marijuana and understanding all the laws related to this drug can help you understand the potential consequences and punishments you might face.