Maryland has extensive laws in place to prevent impaired driving across the state.
Today, you may face one of two impaired driving charges based on the situation and your age. One is a DUI – driving under the influence, and the other is DWI – driving while intoxicated. While the charges may differ, the penalties are significant for both.
DUI and potential penalties
To be charged with DUI in Maryland, you must have a BAC (blood alcohol concentration) of 0.08% or higher. The first time you are convicted of this offense, you will face fines of up to $1,000, a year in prison and lose your license for up to six months. You will also have 12 points added to your driving record.
DWI and potential penalties
DWI charges apply when a driver has a BAC of 0.06% to 0.08%. The penalties for DWI are not as strict as DUI, but they are still serious. For example, a first-time offender will have fines of up to $500, up to 60 days in jail, a six-month license suspension and eight points assessed to their driving record.
In most cases of DUI and DWI convictions, the court will order mandatory participation in an alcohol education course.
Defending your DUI or DWI charges
Because of the impact a DUI or DWI conviction can have, it is recommended that you work to defend yourself and your situation. To do this, you must look at the situation and circumstances around your arrest. Sometimes, administrative errors are enough to have your charges reduced or dismissed.
Knowing your legal rights and options in this situation is the best way to achieve a favorable outcome to your case.