You may have heard the words “assault” and “battery” in movies and television programs as well. People frequently mix up the words “assault” with “battery” and their uses in each state.
There are laws separating assault from battery in several places, with the battery component often carrying the most severe penalties. In Maryland, there are no battery laws, only assault, and those accused of assault still face severe penalties if found guilty.
You might be curious as to how the state distinguishes between one attack and another given that it lacks battery legislation for very extreme behavior. There are two types of assault that can occur, according to Maryland law. Here’s what you should know:
Assault in the second degree
If the accused behavior involves making, threatening to make, or actually making offensive physical contact, you will probably be charged in the second degree. Second degree assault is punishable by up to 10 years of incarceration and a max of $5,000 in fines.
Assault in the first degree
If the prosecution can prove that you threatened, attempted, or actually caused substantial physical harm to another person, you will likely be charged with first degree assault. First-degree assault is punishable by up to 25 years in prison.
Creating a defense against assault
If the court finds you guilty of any accusation, you might face grave consequences. By taking early action to establish a criminal defense, there may be more time to conduct an investigation, gather proof, and formulate a plan.