First-Offense DUI: Know What You Are Up Against
Many people who have been charged with their first DUI make the mistake of thinking it is not a big deal. If you just experienced your first DUI arrest, we urge you to contact a reputable attorney to make sure you understand the potential consequences.
Call 301-579-3429 to reach the Law Offices of Thomas C. Mooney in Upper Marlboro for a free, no-obligation consultation now. We would be happy to sit down with you to answer your questions.
The Penalties Of First-Offense DUI In Maryland
In Maryland, the maximum penalty for a first offense of driving under the influence of alcohol with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 percent or higher is:
- One year in jail
- $1,000 fine
- Driver’s license suspension
- 12 points on your driver’s license
You have only 10 days after your arrest to request a hearing with the Motor Vehicle Administration to prevent a license suspension. Call 301-579-3429 now to talk to a lawyer about protecting your license.
If you were charged with driving while impaired (DWI), meaning your BAC tested between .07 and .08, you could face 60 days in jail; a $500 fine; 8 points on your driver’s license and a suspended license.
Handle Your DUI Charge The Right Way
Many people who face DUI charges without a lawyer — or with a lawyer who is not very good — handle their case the wrong way. They’re worried about jail time, of course, so they plead guilty at the first mention of a deal that comes without it. But having a DUI conviction on your record can have effects that long outlast any jail sentence. Many employers, including the government, may not hire you with a DUI on your record. You could even be fired. And if you ever get accused of drunk driving again, the penalties will increase significantly because now, on paper, you’re a repeat offender.
We are well-aware of the collateral damage of DUIs. We work with our clients very closely to understand their priorities as we put together a defense strategy to get them the best possible results.
Contact us today to discuss your case with an attorney free of charge to learn our honest assessment of your case. Call 301-579-3429 or send us an email to get started.